50 O’Brien St, Bondi Beach, NSW 2026

牙龈疾病和治疗

 
牙龈疾病是牙龈长期细菌感染所引起的。轻微的牙龈炎会导致牙龈红肿并容易出血。严重的牙龈发炎(牙周病)会导致支撑牙齿骨骼的萎缩和周边软组织的永久伤害。

虽然经常刷牙和使用牙线可以防止牙齿上的细菌和牙斑堆积,但已存在于牙齿和牙龈上的牙结石并不会透过刷牙被清除,仍会感染牙龈并导致齿龈炎的症状 – 其为牙龈疾病的第一阶段(牙龈炎)。

发生牙龈炎时,刷牙时牙龈可能会变红,肿胀并流血。幸运的是牙龈炎是疾病的早期阶段,良好的刷牙和牙线清洁习惯以及定期拜访牙医进行清洁仍可以避免牙龈炎。

如果您的牙龈出现流血,疼痛或肿胀 – 请一定要及时去预约牙医咨询,因为牙龈炎的小病例会导致牙周炎。在最坏的情况下,您甚至可能会失去您的牙齿。

请记住,防止牙龈炎的最佳方法是保持正确的刷牙和使用牙线的习惯,并且每6个月去访问牙医进行清洁和检查!

 

什么会导致牙龈炎?

什么会导致牙龈炎
当细菌过度积累导致您的牙龈发炎,牙龈会变红,肿胀和容易流血,医学上我们会称为牙龈炎。牙龈炎是一种较轻微的牙龈疾病,通常可以通过观察每日牙齿卫生和牙医定期清洁来解决。简单的牙龈炎通常不会导致您丧失固定牙齿的骨头和组织。

如果牙龈炎没有得到治疗,斑块积聚变硬形成牙垢,并会导致牙龈与牙齿分离。牙垢的积聚导致牙齿和牙龈之间形成了牙周袋,而越来越大的牙垢会缓慢地破坏负责支撑您的牙齿的骨骼和牙周韧带。 您的牙齿最终可能会变松,不得不被拔除。

 

牙龈疾病的症状

健康的牙龈呈粉红色,没有发红,炎症或压痛,刷牙或用牙线时不会流血。

如果您遇到以下某些或全部症状,您可能患有牙龈炎:

  • 牙龈出血
  • 口臭
  • 刷牙期间牙齿红肿,肿胀或一触即痛及出血
  • 牙齿上出现可见牙结石并没办法通过刷牙清除

牙周炎包括牙龈炎的症状并也可能会有以下的症状:

  • 牙齿松动;
  • 牙根和牙龈之间形成 4毫米以上的牙周袋。 健康的牙齿通常只有1毫米至3毫米的牙周袋深度;
  • 牙龈萎缩或牙齿看上去变得越来越长。

牙龈疾病的各个阶段

 

如何治疗牙龈感染?

最适合的治疗方案将取决于您的牙龈疾病的程度以及牙龈问题发生了多久。在Dentist Mandy,我们会对您的牙齿和牙龈进行彻底检查,并针对您的情况提供最适当的治疗。

 

非手术龈下刮治清洁

刮治清洁

如果您的牙龈疾病是轻微或中度,您只需要接受治疗龈下刮治清洁。牙医在局部麻醉下麻痹牙龈,然后刮掉牙龈线上方和下方的牙斑。 牙医通常一次会处理掉您口腔内四分之一的牙菌斑,因此您可能需要2至4次预约才能完成治疗。

治疗的成功取决于以下因素:

  • 牙龈疾病的严重程度
  • 骨头和组织损失的程度
  • 您刷牙和牙线使用的习惯
  • 生活习惯和身体状况

 

手术治疗

如果牙龈疾病严重,可能需要手术治疗,我们可能会将您转介给专科医生进行治疗。

 

治疗后的护理

根部平整之后,牙龈和牙齿之间的牙周袋会收缩并愈合。但是,您可能会遇到的一个副作用,那就是牙龈萎缩,其将导致您的牙齿对冷热温度变得更加敏感。

在治疗后的几天,您可能会出现轻度至中度的不适,您可以服用一些抗生素,止痛药,抗菌冲剂和抗炎剂来减少不适。

如果您遇到任何不寻常的症状,如过度出血,疼痛,肿胀或挫伤,请联系您的牙医。

 

常见问题

当我刷牙和使用牙线时,牙龈出血是否正常?

这是不正常的表现,当您正常刷牙和使用牙线时,健康的牙龈不会流血。 如果刷牙和使用牙线时牙龈出血,可能表示牙龈疾病。 建议定期拜访牙医。 一旦来诊所治疗牙龈炎症,我们会提供关于如何刷牙和使用牙线的专业资讯,确保您能保持良好的口腔卫生习惯和健康的笑容!

 

什么是牙周袋?

健康的口腔是指牙龈应该贴合在每颗牙齿周围。 牙龈组织及其附着的牙齿之间的距离应该仅有1至3毫米的深度。但是,当发生牙龈疾病时,它会导致牙齿周围更深的空间。 这些就是牙周袋。 如果牙龈疾病未得到治疗,牙周袋会逐渐加深并可能导致牙齿脱落。

 

牙周袋是如何形成?

食物中的微粒和细菌会粘在您的牙齿上,形成一层称为牙菌斑的粘膜层,特别是在牙龈周围。当牙菌斑块没有被刷掉或掉落时,它最终会变成牙垢。 牙垢只能由牙科专业人员去除。 但是,如果一直不进行治疗,牙垢会越来越多,引起炎症和肿胀。 这将导致牙齿和牙龈之间形成牙周袋。 当越来越多的牙垢形成时,它会进一步加深牙周袋。

 
 

We are dedicated to giving each of our patients the healthy smile they deserve!

Top

50 O’Brien St, Bondi Beach, NSW 2026

Gum Treatment

 

What is gum disease?

Gum diseases are infections of the gum that range from mild inflammations of the gums (gingivitis) to major damage of the bone and tissues supporting your teeth (periodontitis).

Whilst regular brushing and flossing will prevent bacteria and plaque build-up on your teeth, plaque on your teeth and gum line that is not removed can infect the gums and lead to symptoms of gingivitis, the first stage of gum disease.

When gingivitis occurs, your gums may become red, swollen and bleed while brushing. The good news is that gingivitis is the early stage of the disease and usually responds well to good brushing and flossing habits and regular visits to your dentist for cleaning

If you experience bleeding, pain or swelling in your gums – don’t delay seeing your dentist, as a minor case of gingivitis can lead to a major case of periodontitis. In the worst scenario, you may even lose your teeth.

Visit our online booking page or contact us on (02) 9300 999 to help us prevent or manage your gum disease symptoms.

Remember, the best way to prevent gingivitis us to maintain proper brushing and flossing habits and visiting your dentist every 6 months for cleanings and a checkup!

 

What causes gingivitis?

Causes for Gum Disease
Gingivitis occurs when bacteria causes your gums to become red, swollen and bleed while brushing. Inflammarion is your body’s natural response to these bacteria and their toxins. The good news is that gingivitis is a milder form of gum disease that can usually be treated by observing daily dental hygiene and by regular cleaning by your dentist. Simple gingivitis does not usually result in any loss of bone and tissue that hold your teeth in place.

If gingivitis is left untreated, the plaque build-up hardens and causes your gum to detach from the tooth. This forms a ‘pocket’ between the tooth and gum, encouraging further plaque build-up in these infected pockets. The hardened plaque slowly destroys your bone and periodontal ligaments, which are responsible for supporting your teeth. Your teeth may eventually become loose and have to be removed.

 

Signs and symptoms of gum disease

Healthy gums are pink in colour with no redness, inflammation or tenderness. They do not bleed while brushing.

If you experience some or all of the following symptoms, you may have gingivitis:

  • bleeding gums
  • bad breath
  • inflammation – red, swollen or tender gums that bleed during brushing
  • visible plaque on the teeth that can be removed by brushing or dental cleaning.

Periodontitis includes the symptoms of gingivitis and also some, or all, of the following symptoms:

  • loose teeth;
  • a ‘pocket’ formed between the root and gums of over 4mm. Healthy teeth usually have pocket depths of between 1mm and 3 mm;
  • Receding gums or the appearance that your teeth are getting longer.

stages of Periodontitis

 

How to treat gum infections?

The most suitable treatment option for you will depend on the extent of your gum disease and how long you’ve waited before seeking treatment. At Dentist Mandy, we will sit down and conduct a thorough examination of your teeth and gums before providing the most appropriate treatment for your condition.

 

Non-surgical gum treatment – deep cleaning / root planing

Dental Scaling and Planing

If your gum disease is mild or moderate, a non-surgical, deep-cleaning technique called root planning may be sufficient. The dentist will numb the gum under local anaesthetic before scraping off the plaque and tarter above and below the gum line. The dentist will typically work on a quarter of your mouth at a time, so you may need 2 to 4 appointments to complete the treatment.

The success of the treatment will depend on factors such as:

  • The severity of the disease
  • Extent of bone and tissue loss
  • Your brushing and flossing habits
  • Smoking habits

 

Surgical treatments

If your gum disease is severe, surgical treatment may be required and we may refer you to a specialist for treatment.

 

Post-Treatment Care

After the root planing procedure, the ‘pocket’ between your gums and teeth will shrink and heal. However, one side effect you may experience is gum recession, resulting in your teeth becoming more sensitive to hot and cold temperatures.

You may experience mild to moderate discomfort for a few days after the treatment which can be managed by antibiotics, pain medications, anti-bacterial rinses and anti-inflammatories.

Contact your dentist if you experience any unusual symptoms post-treatment such as excessive bleeding, pain, swelling or bruising.

 

FAQs

Is it normal for my gums to bleed when I brush and floss?

No. Healthy gums will not bleed when you brush and floss normally. If your gums are bleeding when you brush and floss, it may indicate gum disease. Regular visits to the dentist is recommended. Once treatment proceeds to remove the active disease and stabilise the inflammation of the gums, a professional lesson on how to brush and floss your teeth will maintain good oral hygiene habits and a healthy smile!

 

What are pockets?

A healthy mouth should have gums fit snugly around each tooth. The distance between the gum tissue and its attachment to the tooth should be only 1 to 3 millimetres in depth. However, when gum disease occurs, it can lead to deeper spaces around your teeth. These are pockets, or more specifically, periodontal pockets. If gum disease is left untreated, the pockets will gradually deepen and potentially lead to tooth loss.

 

How do the pockets form?

Food particles and bacteria in your mouth stick onto your teeth to form a sticky film layer called plaque, especially around the gum area. When plaque is not brushed away or flossed out, it will eventually harden into tartar. Tartar can only be removed by a dental professional. However, when left untreated, toxins will start to form on the tartar, causing inflammation and swelling. This will then result in a pocket formation between the teeth and gums. When more and more tartar builds up, it will further deepen the periodontal pockets.

 
 

Top